🌟🌟 Volunteer of the Year Nominees!! 🌟🌟

…and the nominees are… (part 2)

We are delighted to announce the 13 VERY deserving nominees for the Squash WA Volunteer of the Year award: Amos Bruce, Alyce Smith, Bec Ilich, Kat Tonkin, Katy Scott, Lisa Christou, Lyn & Russell Chandler, Mason Woods, Moya Credaro, Peter Siebert, Richard Grain, Serena Richardson and Yvette Clement are all making a huge difference to our sport in a variety of ways.

Be the first to find out who wins the award by coming along to the Squash WA Stars Gala on Saturday 2 December 2023. Tickets are available via the website shop here: https://squashwa.asn.au/shop/

Amos Bruce (Cambridge) “Amos’ consistent effort to improve his own game of squash, encouragement of others (including senior players), his sense of humour and unquestionable sportsmanship, has provided a wonderful role model for our sport and to all our players; juniors and seniors alike.”

Alyce Smith (Narrogin)Alyce’s contributions have not only benefited the Narrogin Squash Club but have also inspired and encouraged others within the squash community.”

Bec Ilich (Vic Park) “As a player and a committee member, Bec helps to foster the inclusive environment that exists at Vic Park.She makes players of all ages and backgrounds feel welcome and encourages them to participate and be partof our squash community.”

Kat Tonkin (Vic Park) “Kat is always going over and above what is expected of her as a committee member and is always coming up with suggestions to improve the club and the sport.”

Katy Scott (Belmont) “Because of her enthusiasm for the sport, whenever there is a chance to ‘plug’ squash, she is there. Katy’s efforts have resulted in securing grants from Healthway, DLGSC, City of Belmont and the Federal Government” 

Lisa Christou (Vic Park) “Lisa is always putting in 100% for the club as she loves the sport and has the best interest of squash and the club at heart. She also has the future of the sport in mind and is very passionate about coaching and promoting the junior program to keep the sport alive.”

Russell and Lyn Chandler (Belmont) “The current home of Squash WA would not be in the great shape that it is without the Chandler’s being so involved, the revival of Belmont has been largely down to their enormous efforts, and they have done so much for the pennant and league competitions.”

Mason Woods (Cambridge) “Mason makes all social players and club members feel welcome at the centre with his enthusiasm, and friendly and helpful manner.  He also makes an active and long lasting contribution to the club and Squash WA through his sponsorship of various event.”

Moya Credaro (Marmion) “Moya’s enthusiasm to be involved in club activities to bring members together makes her an incredible asset and ambassador for the sport.”

Peter Siebert (EGSRA) “Peter is a solid foundation for the club, under his mentorship the club has grown, and he is constantly promoting the club to new members and encouraging to all present and past players”

Richard Grain (Mirrabooka) “Grainy demonstrates fantastic leadership qualities in all aspects of his involvement in squash. He not only works tirelessly in various capacities, but also inspires and motivates others, building a solid foundation for the future of our sport.”

Serena Richardson (Mirrabooka) “Squash is infinitely blessed to have Serena giving so much to the sport in various ways including creating such a wonderful environment of fun and belonging for all juniors.”

Yvette Clement (Blue Gum) “Yvette has become a highly valued member of the club and was the 2023 winner of the Bernice Gryguc Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Contribution to the Club. She is warm and welcoming, and an excellent advocate for the sport.”

Leave a Reply